Good Recipes – Curried Egg Salad

I have seen various forms of this idea/recipe.  I love them all.  I pretty much love anything with curry flavors in it.  You can usually find curry powder in most grocery stores.  If you are near Athens, there is actually a really good Indian grocery store on Baxter Street called the Taj Mahal and they have tons of great spices for really great prices. (ha! I’m a regular Dr. Seuss!)

Also, I use my own homemade mayonnaise for this recipe, so I will include that recipe as well.

Mayonnaise – my recipe uses an immersion blender, which I absolutely LOVE, but you can get those old school manual mayo blenders too

Ingredients:

2Tbs. lemon juice

1 whole egg plus 1 egg yolk (at room temperature)

1 1/2 cups (or so) of canola oil (you can substitute olive oil)

1/4 tsp. salt

Recipe:

In tall blender cup, combine lemon juice, egg, and egg yolk.  Using immersion blender, pulse until smooth.  With blender running, add oil in a slow, steady stream and blend until smooth and fluffy.  Add salt and blend in.

Curried egg salad – serves 2-4 (depending on how you like your sandwiches!)

  • 4 eggs (free range is best)
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise (which you just made, go you!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 2 tablespoons chopped pistachios
  • tiny splash of lime juice
  • salt and black pepper

Hard boil the eggs and let cool.  Meanwhile, mix mayo, curry powder, pistachios, and lime juice.  Peel eggs, then chop them up.  Stir eggs in with dressing, salt and pepper to taste.

I like this salad on good sourdough bread (preferably from The Granary in Watkinsville) with some arugula. Yummie!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment