Our New Years Goals


(PARKing day Athens, GA 2010)

As a way to encourage myself in my goals, and maybe encourage you in yours, I am going to post some of the goals Iain and I wrote in our little notebook here, on the blog.

1-Blog regularly: I’m off to a good start, and I’m setting myself up with a bit of a routine with it, with weekly series and such.

2-Open (and stock) etsy store: Picking up steam with this, hopefully I’ll have it up and running before too long with lovely handmade crafts.

3-Learn how to sew: I’ve already gotten started with this too, my ultimate goal is to sew a quilt by the end of the year.

4-Have an awesome garden: there are LOTS of steps to achieving this, and I’m sure I’ll be posting along the way.  An awesome (and large) garden takes a whole lot of work, especially when starting from almost scratch (we had a bit of a garden last year), so this is going to be a BIG project.

5-Build a shed: Iain and I both want to get better at DIY and carpentry skills, and we desperately need a shed (our WHOLE house has only TWO closets! and we don’t have a basement).   Hopefully with help we’ll build one with our own hands.

6-Keep ducks: We’ve had a couple ducks at various points, but never at this house, and never for long.  We’d like to get some ducks for laying eggs and for pest control in our garden.

Phew, I think that’s enough to keep us busy for the next few months.  I’ll keep you updated on how these things are going along the way

If you’re committing to some goals, share them here if you’d like, or like up on a blog.  Lets check in periodically and see where we’re all at with our goals.

Rebecca

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our New Years Goals

  1. Katrina says:

    Thanks for sharing, and for the inspiration!
    This year I hope to:
    Learn and master the art of sourdough.
    Have a great summer garden. (We want to work on fall/winter after we are good at summer!)
    Teach Art & maybe Ella to read.
    Run the Athens Half Marathon in October.
    Pick and begin learning one of these: sewing, knitting, or quilting.

  2. jincey says:

    Rebecca, I am so happy to find your blog! When will you start planting your garden?
    Best to you and Iain!
    Jennie

    • ircresswell says:

      Hello! We’re in the planning stages right now, ordering seeds, drawing plans, etc. I’m hoping to get a good place set up to start seeds soon(ish) and maybe get a jump on spring vegetables soon, like peas and greens and such. It’s been so warm lately makes I think I might as well get going. Great to hear from you!

  3. Willene Keel says:

    Ya’ll have me thinking about goals. Frequently mine are to do daily goals: get the essays graded, cook something new today, pack up and put away the Christmas decorations. I like the idea of learning something new. So, what inspires me??

Leave a Reply

